Catching up

Dear Blog,

Oh, I’m so very sorry to have neglected you for so long. No, really – you’re so kind about it, so understanding, but even with the various hells I was going through for the majority of last semester, I should have made time for you. I won’t bore you now with the details of the countless working-till-3:00-am nights, the impossible assignments, the frustrations with the department, the poor eating habits and distance from friends and struggle to survive. No, that’s all over now, thank goodness; I lived, that’s the important thing, and I’m moving on.

What I most regret is missing the chance to tell you some amazing stories, dearest Blog. The long-promised tale of NeoCon 2007, with pretty chairs and a damn good speaker; the fantastic trip to Denver for the National Collegiate Honors Conference (NerdFest 2007), which was basically an all-expenses-paid vacation disguised as an academic endeavor, in my favorite city, with one of my favorite people (“BIG BLUE BEAR!” “…What?”); my Thanksgiving trip to Mount Holyoke to see Hannah, which was my first time traveling alone by bus, and quite lovely; the organ recital I attended almost by accident that ended up being one of the most eye-opening musical experiences of my life; my 1:oo am MoMA Christmas-gift shopping spree; the tearful goodbyes at HSA’s Chillaxin’ with those jerks graduating next semester; the trip home, which would be more accurately described as the Day of Hell, where nearly every air-travel-related thing that could go wrong in fact did, short of an actual aviation disaster. At least I got my bags back. Eventually.

So, yes, it was a pretty eventful semester, right up until the bitter end – there are too many stories, now, to catch up on.

But winter break, so far? It’s been fine. I live in a construction zone, at the moment (putting in bamboo flooring: it’s worth it, but sheesh), but it’s wonderful to be in Colorado, to be driving somewhere on a sunny morning and be startled by a gorgeous view of the mountains, not because I’ve forgotten they’re there, but because I keep forgetting I’m home and how good it is. It’s great to go visit family and end up talking all evening, to have access to a car again, to be able to get up more or less when I want and go shower in the bathroom that’s all mine (I never have to live in university housing again, thank goodness) and eat a bowl of cereal while staring out at the winter-bare shrubs in the backyard. A backyard! What a novel idea! After the constant stress and panic of the semester, and the resulting utter disenchantment with Syracuse, being home is just about the most wonderful thing I can think of.

And, of course, there’s this whole London thing. It’s less than three weeks, now, until I leave, and there’s plenty to do before then – passport photos to be sent ’round for various things, financial issues to be considered, stylish clothes to be bought. I’m at once terribly excited and very, very nervous. But amidst all this preparation and the numerous pulls and pushes on my social calendar, I just wanted to get back in touch with you, dear Blog. After all, I need to get in the habit, because you’re serving as my travel journal next semester; I just hope you’re looking forward to it as much as I am.

Most sincerely,

Colin

0 Responses to “Catching up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

